District Police, Kottayam

0481 - 2564700 spktym.pol@kerala.gov.in

Kottayam District Police unit has its boundary with Idukki District on the east, Eranakulam District on the north , Pathanamthitta District on the south and Alappuzha District on the west.

The District Police Office, District Special Branch, District Head Quarters (Administration), District Crime Records Bureau, Districts Crime Branch, Narcotic Cell, Cyber Cell, Women’s Cell, and Telecommunication Unit are housed at the head quarters. For the maintenance of law and order Kottayam District Police Unit is subdivided into 5 Sub Divisions namely Kottayam, Changanacherry, Kanjirappally, Pala and Vaikom sub divisions.These are also subdivided into 13 Circles, 33 Police Stations including one vanitha police station and two traffic sub units.

Organisation Structure of District Police, Kottayam

  • District Police Office, Kottayam
    • Kottayam Sub Division
      • Kottayam West Circle
        • Kottayam West PS
        • Kottayam Traffic PS
        • Kumarakom PS
      • Kottayam East Circle
        • Kottayam East PS
        • Vanitha PS
        • Ayarkunnam PS
      • Ettumanoor Circle
        • Ettumanoor PS
        • Gandhinagar PS
    • Changanacherry Sub Division
      • Changanacherry Circle
        • Changanacherry PS
        • Chingavanam PS
        • Thrikodithanam PS
      • Vakathanam Circle
        • Vakathanam PS
        • Karukachal PS
    • Kanjirappally Sub Division
      • Manimala Circle
        • Manimala PS
        • Erumely PS
      • Kanjirappally Circle
        • Kanjirappally PS
        • Mundakayam PS
      • Ponkunnam Circle
        • Ponkunnam PS
        • Pallickathodu PS
      • Pampady Circle
        • Pampady PS
        • Manarcad PS
    • Pala Sub Division
      • Pala Circle
        • Pala PS
        • Kidangoor PS
      • Ramapuram Circle
        • Ramapuram PS
        • Marangattupally PS
      • Erattupetta Circle
        • Erattupetta PS
        • Melukavu PS
        • Thidanad PS
    • Vaikom Sub Division
      • Vaikom Circle
        • Vaikom PS
        • Thalayolaparambu PS
      • Kaduthuruthy Circle
        • Kaduthuruthy PS
        • Velloor PS
        • Kuravailangad PS
    • District Head Quarters
    • District Special Branch
    • District Crime Branch
      • Women Cell
      • Cyber Cell
    • District Crime Records Bureau
      • Computer Cell
    • Narcotic Cell
    • District Armed Reserve

Sanctioned Strength of Kottayam District

Executive Wing

Rank Strength
District Police Chief1
Dy.Supdt.of Police10
Circle Inspector14
Women Inspector1
Sub Inspector of Police (Local)92
Asst. Sub Inspector of Police (Local)82
Head Constable (Local)394
Head Constable (Local Tourism)3
Woman Head Constable7
Police Constable (Local)879
Police Constable (Local Tourism)7
Women Police Constable153
Women Police Constable (Govt.Press)2

Armed Reserve Unit

Rank Strength
Asst. Commandant2
Reserve Inspector2
Reserve Sub Inspector12
Driver SI1
MT Sub Inspector1
Armour SI1
Asst.Sub inspector 12
Armour ASI1
Head Constable AR40
Head Constable AR (Govt. Press) 1
Armour Head Constable1
Police Constable (AR)441
Driver HC/PC91
Armour PC1
Fitter PC1
Dog Handler2
Carpenter PC1
Mechanical HC/PC1

Ministerial Wing

Rank Strength
Admn. Assistant1
Confidential Asst.2
Office Attendant4
Scientific Assistant1
Asistant Surgeon1
Staff or Head Nurse1
Nursing Assistant1
Hospital Attender G1or G21
Cook (Hospital)1
Part Time Sweeper(Hospital)1
Part Time Sweeper36