Kottayam, the land of lakes, letters and latex is a land-locked district silhouetted by the Idukki Hill Slopes on the east, adjoined by the rolling plains of Ernakulam on the north, bordered by the paddy fields of Kuttanad on the south west and the undulating slopes of Pathanamthitta on the south and bathed by the placid waters of the Vembanad Lake on the west. Ranked tenth among the 14 districts of Kerala in terms of area as well as population.

Kottayam District Police is entrusted with the responsibility of maintaining law & order in the entire precincts of the district, prevention and detection of crime, traffic management and various citizen centric services for the people of Kottayam District area comprising Kottayam, Changanaherry, Kanjirappally, Pala and Vaikom subdivisions. Parts of Kottayam , Changanacherry, Vaikom, Kanjirappally and Meenachil Taluks having 99 Revenue Villages come under the jurisdiction of Kottayam District Police.

Last updated on Friday 25th of March 2022 AM